

WEBER STATE UNIVERSITY

Salary, Benefits, Budget, and Fiscal Planning Committee

Faculty Senate

To:Faculty Senate Executive CommitteeFrom:Laine Berghout, Chair, Salary, Benefits, Budget, and Financial Planning CommitteeDate:October 15, 2014Subject:Composition of the Salary Negotiations Subcommittee

In the SBBFP Committee meeting of October 14, 2014, the Committee members recommended the Salary Negotiations Subcommittee be constituted as follows:

Faculty Senate Chair – Craig Oberg SBBFP Chair – Laine Berghout Third Member – Richard Green

We respectfully submit this list for Faculty Senate approval.

A question was raised regarding the composition of this subcommittee based on its description in the Faculty Senate's Constitutional Bylaws:

PPM 1-13, Article B-V, Section 4.10, Committee on Salary, Benefits, Budget and Fiscal Planning

The Committee on Salary, Benefits, Budget and Fiscal planning shall study, evaluate and make recommendations on faculty salaries, benefits, budgets and fiscal planning issues.

This Committee shall not exceed nine members with representation from each organization unit. The Faculty Senate chair shall serve as the Executive Committee liaison. A subcommittee shall serve under the direction of this Committee and represent the faculty in salary and related negotiations with the University administration. No two members of this subcommittee shall be from the same organizational unit. This subcommittee shall consist of the Faculty Senate chair, the chair of the Committee on Salary, Benefits, Budget and Fiscal Planning and a third member nominated by the Committee and approved by the Faculty Senate.

Both Craig Oberg and myself belong to the same organizational unit, the College of Science, but we are also both specified to be members of the Salary Negotiations Subcommittee in the bylaws. Please provide guidance on this inconsistency and the Committee's recommendation of subcommittee members.